Skip to content
2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 5:07 am

    Hi Nancy,
    Thanks for this article. I’ll definately check out the book.
    I do have to add that sometimes people go overboard with checklists! 🙂

    • October 27, 2010 7:12 am

      You’re so right. I struggled a little bit when pulling this post together over the weekend, because I’ve seen it work and I really believe in it. But on the other extreme is placing too much reliance on a big checklist and using it as a crutch to go on auto-pilot and turn off the human element that the checklist is supposed to complement, not replace. I think that can be said for all tools and models. And now that I think about it, I read a great piece on this early this year. Here is the link: http://www.theiia.org/intAuditor/free-feature/2009/december/a-new-direction/

      It’s long so just skip to the “The Danger of Bureaucracy” section.

Leave a Reply

